Smolenice Castle is set on a small
hill above the village of Smolenice, originally a military fort built in the
14th century to protect the Small Carpathian passes and the Czech Way trade
route. At the beginning of the 15th century it belonged to the King, later to
the Counts of Pezinok
and Svätý Jur, and from the beginning of the 16th century to the Ország family.
Nearly two centuries later the Erdődy family took possession. At the end
of the 18th century, the castle burnt down leaving only ruins. At the beginning
of the 20th century, its last owners, the Pálffy family, began to build a
modern family home in its place. The present castle was completed after 1945. The
Romantic appearance of the castle is enhanced by grounds in the style of an
English park with meadows, the beauty of which can be enjoyed during the summer
months from the castle tower.
At present, Smolenice Castle is the
property of the Slovak Academy of Sciences and is only part accessible to the
public (gardens, courtyards, reserved rooms).